Town of Laurentian Hills

Updated: 5 years ago - Created: February 25th, 2012

Town of Laurentian HillsThe Town of Laurentian Hills is the amalgamated Village of Chalk River and the Townships of Rolph, Buchanan, Wylie & McKay.

The Village of Chalk River is world renowned as the home of Atomic Energy of Canada (AECL), the area's largest employer. AECL has proven international expertise in metallurgy, chemistry, biology and engineering. It is also only 10 minutes from Canadian Forces Base Petawawa. A 25 acre Business Park, strategically located between the TransCanada Highway and the Canadian Pacific Railway, is available for phased development as well as highway commercial area suitable for commercial or light industrial activities. The Townships of Rolph, Buchanan, Wylie and McKay stretches from Rolphton to beyond the Village of Chalk River and provides seasonal recreational opportunities such as fishing, swimming, boating, hunting, cross-country skiing as well as Pembroke/North Bay TOP snowmobile Trails and the Temiskawawa Waterway, Ontario's newest recreation system, flows through this area. The Town of Laurentian Hills' real estate is reasonably priced with affordable new and resale housing in this area of the Upper Ottawa Valley. The Visitor Centre, located at the Petawawa Research Forest on Highway 17, offers regional tourist information plus programs on forest and heritage themes. The Centre offers many incredible things to enjoy and explore at no cost. Forest and water trails take visitors around the area and point out different aspects of nature. Take a trip back into the past of the Upper Ottawa Valley with a visit to the School House Museum. With a collection of over 1000 artifacts and over 600 photographs, the museum depicts the history of the area.



34465 Hwy. 17,
Deep River, Ontario
K0J 1P0

County Council Member

Name Title Telephone Fax
Dick Rabishaw Mayor (613)584-3114 (613)584-3285

Dick Rabishaw (Mayor) - Town of Laurentian Hills

My Political career started in 2003 as a Councillor with the Town of Laurentian Hills and during that period of time I served as Chairman of Public Works and Vice Chairman of Finance. I also was on the Joint Economic Committee that included Deep River, Head Clara & Maria and Laurentian Hills. I have lived in Laurentian Hills all my life and was employed at AECL for 33 years before my retirement in 2001. Renfrew County is my home and I look forward giving back to the community that has provided so much to me and my family.

Elected Municipal Officials

Name Title Telephone Fax
Brenda Blimkie Councillor  (613) 584-3114  
Bruce Boucher Councillor  (613) 584-3114  
Anne Giardini Councillor  (613) 584-3114  
John Hoyle Councillor  (613) 584-3114  

Municipal Staff

Name Title Telephone Fax
Sherry Batten CAO/Clerk (613) 584-3114 (613) 584-3285
Tammy Forbes Treasurer (613) 584-3114 (613) 584-3285
Scott Loos Town Superintendent (613) 584-3865 (613) 584-3285
Gerry Dupuis Building/Plumbing Inspector (613) 584-4015 (613) 584-3285

Additional Info