Township of Whitewater Region

Updated: 5 years ago - Created: February 24th, 2012

Township of Whitewater RegionThe Township of Whitewater Region, is made up of the prior Municipalities of the Village of Beachburg, Village of Cobden, Township of Ross and the Township of Westmeath. Most of the Villages and Hamlets have Elementary schools, arenas, Ball parks and libraries, Beachburg also has a Medical Centre which serves the surrounding area. Attractions such as Whitewater Rafting, Logos Land theme Park, Golf Courses, Trailer and camping parks, the Ottawa River and Muskrat Lake, all easily accessible from Hwy 17. The Township's proximity to the communities of Renfrew, Pembroke, Petawawa and the national capital region as well as local industries, provides small community lifestyle with nearby employment opportunities. The township has plenty of available and affordable land, ready to be developed. This agricultural region also offers land classes 5, 6 and 7 that can be developed for other uses than agriculture; the Township offers good sources of mineral aggregate. Our industrial park, situated close to the Trans Canada Highway, offers your choice of 3 phase hydro and gas; vacant land is presently available in the park. A commercial airport and a rail line are situated nearby and two railways cross the Township another airport is also situated in the Township. With breathtaking scenery, many forms of recreations, several churches and a friendly environment, it's a great place to be.



Box 40,
44 Main St.,
Cobden, Ontario
K0J 1K0

County Council Member

Name Title Telephone Fax
Donald Rathwell Reeve (613)646-2282 (613)646-2283

Donald Rathwell (Reeve) - Township of Whitewater Region

Mayor Don Rathwell is back at County Council for his second term as Warden of the County of Renfrew. As the Mayor of Whitewater Region Township, Don first served on County Council beginning in 2003. Don served 18 years on the old Ross Township Council before amalgamation. Don was Chair of the Transition Board that brought the four Local Governments together to form Whitewater Region. Prior to entering politics, Don worked for Timminco for 48 years in management, retiring as the Manager of Distribution. As the Warden, Don serves on all committees and oversees the implementation of the County of Renfrew’s $138 million budget and 750 employees. Don and his wife Beverly reside on the shores of Muskrat Lake and are frequently visited by their four children and eight grandchildren. Don always welcomes visitors to Whitewater to experience the natural beauty of the area.

Elected Municipal Officials

Name Title Telephone Fax
Jim Labow Mayor (613)646-2282 (613)646-2283
Izett McBride Deputy Mayor (613)646-2282 (613)646-2283
Allen Dick Councillor    
Daryl McLaughlin Councillor    
Cathy Regier Councillor    
Joseph Trimm Councillor    

Municipal Staff

Name Title Telephone Fax
Christine FitzSimons CAO/Clerk (613)646-2282 (613)646-2283
Annette Mantifel Deputy CAO/Treasurer (613)646-2282 (613)646-2283
Vacant Public Works Supervisor (613)587-4764 (613)587-4229
Charles Cheesman Manager of Planning Services (613)735-3204 (613)734-2492

Additional Info